+44(0)20 8533 7258

info@asidebsidegallery.com

 

The Harry Pye Awards 2018 

30th August – 4th September 2018

PV Friday 31 August 7-9.30pm


The exhibition at A-side B-side Gallery is open to the public every day from Thursday 30th  August until Tuesday 4th of September 12pm till 5pm. There will be an additional evening event on Friday 31st August 2018 7pm to 10pm which will feature an awards ceremony.


Harry Pye says: "Over the last 18 years I have co-curated more than a dozen group shows and I've worked with over 200 artists. I've organised events at Tate Britain such as The Tate Staff Turner Prize (2007) and my own work has appeared in two exhibitions at Tate Modern; No Soul For Sale (2010) and Inside Job (2018).  Curiously, despite my many years service to the Arts, my trophy cabinet remains empty. Gandhi  once said, "Be the change you want to be in the world" and I agree with him.  Last month I decided that there was nothing to stop me having my own awards ceremony and that I was free to hand out awards to my art heroes and talented chums to give them the respect and acclaim that I have been denied. 


Everyone who comes to the Awards Ceremony at the A-side B-side Gallery On the 31st of August will feel like a winner as they'll get to see the amazing Singer-Songwriter Sukie Smith perform live (at 8pm) They will also see work by all 13 of the nominees up for The Harry Pye Prize for Painting which this year is sponsored by Joffe Books. The evening will feature special guests, a raffle and a few surprises .The winner of the painting prize will be announced when a name is picked from a hat at 8.55pm


The 13 nominees are...

1)Harry Adams, (from London) https://www.harryadams.org

2) Gordon Beswick, (from Stoke)

3) Martin Brown, (from Canberra) http://www.martinbrownartist.com

4) Sohrab Crews, (from London) http://www.sohrab.co.uk

5) Mikey Georgeson, (from Bexhill) http://www.mikeygeorgeson.com

6) James Lawson, (from Richmond)

7) Lee Maelzer, (from London) http://www.leemaelzer.com

8) Raksha Patel, (from Leicester) http://www.rakshapatel.co.uk

9) Raphael Pepper, (from Essex) http://www.raphaelpepper.com

10) Rachael Robb, (from Warnambool):  https://www.rachaelrobb.com

11) Geraldine Swayne, (from Surrey) http://www.geraldineswayne.org

12) Sarah Sparkes, (from London) http://www.sarahsparkes.com

13) Sandra Turnbull. (from Birmingham) http://sandraturnbull.com


Harry Pye has been described as being "An Art maven" by Stewart Lee and "a cheeky impresario" by The Evening Standard. Last year he collaborated with the composer Francis Macdonald on an album called Bonjour which Mojo magazine gave four stars and described as "odd but good".


See examples of work by the 13 nominees for the best painting award here:

http://therebelmagazine.blogspot.com/2018/07/the-harry-pye-awards-at-a-side-b-side.html


Gallery opening hours: 10-5pm Friday–Tuesday

www.asidebsidegallery.com

www.facebook.com/asidebsidegallerylondon

#asidebsidegallery

@Aside_Bside_


For further info or images contact info@asidebsidegallery.com +44 (0) 2085337258